Business, Computers, Electronics, Recycle, Refactor, Reuse, saving money

Pissed at Apple Computer? Reuse your i-device as a remote camera

I was pissed at Apple Computer when they told me my iPad was not going to be supported any longer. Like in Mission Impossible when their iPad support disintegrates into white smoke if I don’t comply. But I complied when I chose to buy an Apple iPad and not a competitor brand like Samsung or Acer.

Ok enough bitching about a device that is no longer being supported. It was a matter of time. Wait until the first generation Apple iWatch goes unsupported. I’m sure a lot of you will be screaming. Unsupported. What does that mean? Simply said, there will no longer be any iOS updates to my iPad which means an eventual death to the use of my device. No iOS updates means fewer downloads of apps that I depend on using. Eventually there will be no apps to download because they will no longer be compatible to an older version of iOS.

I think you’ve seen those humorous articles on the web about old and retired iPads. For instance, your obsolete iPad can serve as a serving tray for drinks. Or be used as a paperweight so that your papers don’t fly away.

Here’s where my iSave blog comes to save the day. Before your old and retired i-devices parish from non-use, download a free app called ‘Presence‘ by People Power Company. This app’s purpose is to “recreate and reimagine devices that many people don’t think have value anymore.” according to the app’s FAQ. With this app, you can convert your old i-devices to remote cameras that you can control remotely from anywhere in the world. It is like having a remote camera in your house to keep an eye on your house when you’re away on vacation or out of the house for an extended period of time.

After you’ve downloaded this app on your old device, go ahead and download the same app on your current (or new) device. You will be asked to sign in or if this is your first time then go ahead and create a new account. With a new account, you can now sign on using your old device. It’s really easy to setup and the app is intuitive so I trust that you can figure it out yourself.

If you own any of Apple’s i-devices, I’m sure there will come a time when your device enters a non-support period. When it does, convert it to a remote camera using Presence and have it do something for you, rather than let it collect dust.

 

Leave a comment